warm cold lubing chain *warning, graphic image*

rorku5

I just can't get my head around it,, on the can it says to lube chain when warm,, but after cleaning the chain,, I can't ride it unlubed to warm it up can I??
Id have to lube the thing cold wouldn't I??
Any tips for a dummy like myself??

Rich007

The only thing you are doing when you are lubing the chain is putting a layer on the outside, the internals are already lubed and sealed with o rings. What you are essentially doing is lubing the outside of the o rings. Do not wire brush the chain to clean it either of you risk chewing up the o rings.

NUISANCE

This may be the wrong thing to do but after I clean it and it's still on the rear stand I pop it in first and let the chain warm up while it's in the air still before I lube it up. Might be wrong but it's how I do it.

BKP

You might want to reconsider that method... From another forum:

"I will start off by saying that I am a worthless squid rookie and I suck at everything in life.
I was about to go for a ride today and my chain was pretty nasty, so I put it up on the stands and got out the wd-40 and a rag. I started the bike, put it in gear and let it idle. I sprayed the chain down really well and I put the rag up to it and it got caught and took my hand with it through the rear sprocket. I had to have everything above my last joint amputated on my index, pointer and my ring finger on my right hand. Thankfully I am left handed. It was a stupid mistake on my part and now I will forever pay the price for it. Say what you will, flame away, I don't care. I have accepted it and I take full responsibility. I made a choice (not knowing any better) and I will live with the consequences for the rest of my life. I thought I would post this so that 1.) no one else ever makes this mistake and 2.) To show that you don't have to be riding for a bike to get you hurt."

Yeah, I know it's graphic. Graphic is best when you want to get a *very* important point across...