Passing?

Duke

I'm wondering if you guys have seen this, as I am new to the bike world (only have a little over 500 miles on my first bike), this situation caught me a little off guard.

On my way home today I was on a back country road that leads to my house. I'm traveling at a good clip of about 65 mph and I come up to a trike that apparently wasn't familiar with the road as he was doing about 40 mph. As I speed up to pass, the guy started to swerve into the left lane as though to give me room on the right hand side to pass, leaving his center wheel on the center line of the road and his left wheel in the left lane... I've never experienced this so I did what I always do (since I had already started my counter steer and acceleration) and passed on the left after making sure the coast was clear. But my question is, is this standard for a lot of people to allow faster moving bikes to pass on the right hand side by moving into the opposite lane?

No, do not pass on the right.

That's what my thought was. Since I'm so new to riding I wasn't sure if that was commonplace for people to do... I passed on the left anyway. Was just weird...

Not sure about the kinds of roads you are talking about, but it is customary in CA to pass/lane split on the right if you are in the car pool lane (presumably for the extra space given by the double yellows), but other than that.. passing is generally done on the left from my experience.

That guy is an idiot. He clearly didn't want you to pass as he saw you approaching at a higher speed. Oh well, just proves that these ppl are everywhere!! Hope you enjoy your bike and be safe

... it is customary in CA to pass/lane split on the right if you are in the car pool lane (presumably for the extra space given by the double yellows)...

The lane-splitting rule says you have to split 2 lanes. Shoulders are not a lane, so you have to split the HOV and #1 lanes.