New from MN

Muffinpunch

Hi everyone!

I finally decided to join after lurking around the forum for a few weeks. I have been debating between an FZ6R and an SV650N to replace my WR250X. I'm not a newbie, but I don't really want or need a supersport and probably never will. I'm really more of a hooligan rider, which has had me leaning more toward the SV as I don't really care for the full fairing of the 6R. But I do have a thing for Yamahas.

After spending some time drooling over the XJ6 Ive concluded that I really want an FZ6R so I can convert it into a mini streetfighter. I recently came across a resource in the UK offering new OEM naked fairing and belly pan parts including the mounting brackets and hardware from the XJ6 shipped to the US for around $550! The headlight parts are another $400 due to the headlamp assembly, but I think I can probably find a tasteful headlight somewhere else for a reasonable price.

As far as performance upgrades, I'm more interested in suspension upgrades than go fast bits. So I eventually see myself doing an R6 front end swap and upgrading the rear shock and possibly doing a ss swingarm swap at some point. I haven't seen too many front end swaps done on these bikes and I haven't seen anyone swap swingarms, but that wouldn't stop me. I'll document the whole process and I'll be asking advice where needed.
Sorry if my rambling got carried away, but I'm excited to soon be an official member of the FZ6R community.

Last edited:

Nastybutler

Cynical Member
Elite Member

DragonBlu