Clunking Noise While Starting Out in 1st Gear?

MattEnTheHat

Hey all,
I've noticed a funny noise recently when I'm just starting out in first gear on my bike. The sound is a sort of 'clunk' a little bit like the noise it makes when you're sitting in neutral and shift down to first. It happens as I'm just starting out in first gear, getting off the clutch, right around the point where the clutch is fully engaged. Anyone have any idea what this could be?

Some things to keep in mind:
  • It only happens in first gear (I think? It is possible that there is just too much wind noise by the time I get to second to hear it, but I don't think so).
  • It only happens when the bike is on and moving. I can let the clutch in and out all day in first gear with the bike off and it never makes the noise.
  • It seems more pronounced when the bike is cold.

Thanks for any light you can shed!

latony007

Hey my Simi Friend. hope all is well. I do not have an answer for you but havent seen you in a while so thought i would say hi :D
actually trying to move out to Simi this year, not sure we will pull it off but trying.

You have not changed the oil recently have you? I know the engine oil does the gears too so if you had an issue or used some crappy oil that might cause something, but seems not likely.

Hey all,
I've noticed a funny noise recently when I'm just starting out in first gear on my bike. The sound is a sort of 'clunk' a little bit like the noise it makes when you're sitting in neutral and shift down to first. It happens as I'm just starting out in first gear, getting off the clutch, right around the point where the clutch is fully engaged. Anyone have any idea what this could be?

Some things to keep in mind:
  • It only happens in first gear (I think? It is possible that there is just too much wind noise by the time I get to second to hear it, but I don't think so).