Wanting to upgrade to higher vis rear turn signal lights

blueox600

Hey. I'm new to the riding world - recently got a 2009 fz6r that has really poor rear signal lights. The visibility is brutal. They were an add-on the previous owner mounted with the tail tidy. Any recommendations on what to upgrade to? Thanks!

Not sure if the stock factory fender look appeals to you, but you could probably find someone who removed it willing to part with one on here. The turn signals on those are just regular old incandescent bulbs but they're large, far apart and bright enough. You could keep the LED tail light if you wanted to.

I know what you mean about the visibility, I installed a Motodynamic LED tail light which is sleek but really wasn't comfortable with the reduced visibility they offered to cars behind me. I ended up reinstalling the factory fender/lights once I put on my luggage racks (needed factory fender for them to mount properly). Doesn't look as sleek but I feel better.

Anyway, going back to stock is one option.

blueox600

Thanks! We just finished up an XJ6 conversion on it and so I'm not keen on the idea of going back to stock but will definitely keep it in consideration as an option.

Dan-600

Get some stock blinkers and put LED bulbs in them, that will give you the best visibility. I may be selling mine (stock with LED's) in a day or two...

Get some stock blinkers and put LED bulbs in them, that will give you the best visibility. I may be selling mine (stock with LED's) in a day or two...
Dan, would you mind pointing us to what LED bulbs you used? Did you have issues with flash rate after installing them?

Thanks (hope I'm not hi-jacking!)

Brent27

Dan, would you mind pointing us to what LED bulbs you used? Did you have issues with flash rate after installing them?

Thanks (hope I'm not hi-jacking!)
I second this - I'm curious to know also. I know the stock signals are dorky but I like that they're higher vis. LEDs would be a great addition.

Last edited: