Reflections on today's ride..

Maadi

Or, in other words, my butt hurts!

We decided to go around the Rangeley Lake today, trip found here. We adjusted beginning and end to be at our house, and that made the whole trip about 6 hours with a lunchbreak.
The roads were amazing, rt.17 going up to Rangeley Lake is very enjoyable for a less race track oriented person like me. The curves are enough to make it an effort, but not too much. The weather was perfect, about 65F and sunny. And somehow we timed it perfectly so, that everybody was going the other way :D
So, things I found out during the ride:
- I can stand the stock seat for about one hour before my butt gets too numb to ride comfortably (looking for threads about custom seats ASAP).
- What's up with people nowadays? Nobody waves anymore! Also, it has gotten a lot worse after I started riding the Fz6r. Cruiser riders stare at me while they drive by - not waving! My husband thinks it's because we are ATGATT and have headlight modulators, and therefore are way too uncool...
- The Yamaha bubble windshield is good up to about 55mph. After that it's just a bug killer. Not that it killed enough of them, my helmet was absolutely covered when I got home.
- Not riding on the highway, I got 55 mpg, even with the side cases on. That is what I got on my cruizer, too, but without the zip.. :)
- I really love this bike!!!!

Here's a picture of us near the lake:

Attachments

bleedinblue

Elite Member

redwing-2001

Or, in other words, my butt hurts!

We decided to go around the Rangeley Lake today, trip found here. We adjusted beginning and end to be at our house, and that made the whole trip about 6 hours with a lunchbreak.
The roads were amazing, rt.17 going up to Rangeley Lake is very enjoyable for a less race track oriented person like me. The curves are enough to make it an effort, but not too much. The weather was perfect, about 65F and sunny. And somehow we timed it perfectly so, that everybody was going the other way :D