Can't get over this FEAR

DakinechicK

As some of you may remember, the day I went to trade my FZ6r in, a guy ran into the back of me throwing me over the handlebars and leaving my bike not much to be desired. :mad:

Anyway, I rode my new bike all through the summer and all was good.

Then, came winter and the bike was put up until spring. Now, here we are with beautiful weather and I am afraid to get back on my bike as thoughts of that wreck weigh heavily in my mind. SuCKS!!! I'm terrified when I ride now. I will ride for short distances and that's it. I've been riding for over 10 years and nothing has bothered me about riding until now. ???
I'm at a loss at how to get over this. I get real uneasy and shaky just sitting on my bike or even riding in the neighborhood.

At this point, I am sad and kind of overwhelmed. I love riding.... so what the hell ???

Parcho

Same thing happened to me with BMX. I had a wicked wreck on a half pipe and was never able to do any jumps again, even small jumps got me all shakey. I had done it for over 10 years as well. I ended up switching to flatland.

I wish I had tips or whatever to get over it, but its something that is almost a primal reaction. At least you can ride short distances... just keep it up and eventually it will fade maybe?

shocker35

I know how you feel, I just wrecked a few weeks ago. i just got my bike back together last night and took it for a ride and felt weird on it. I know it's easier said than done but I just got one and just opened it right back up. I figure it will be like how it was when i first started riding and I was nervous the first few times I go out but it will fade the more I go out. Good luck and stay upright.

MustGoFaster