1st track day video - Barber Motorsports Park

mbridge51

[ame=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oaOlOQeioOY]YouTube - 1st Track Day[/ame]

Well, for what its worth, here's a short video of my 1st ever track day. It was at Barber Motorsports Park in Birmingham, Alabama. The only bike I could keep up with was another FZ6R.

Most all the other bikes were R6's, R1's, CBR's, GSXR's, ZX6R's and a bunch of Ducati's.... most all lighter weight, with more horsepower, better brakes, and better suspensions. Granted, this was my 1st time on the track and I'm a novice, but the FZ6R just could not torque up and pull in the straights like the bikes mentioned above. It was clear how superior the other bikes brakes and suspensions were, relative to how hard they could brake without their front suspensions bottoming out quite as bad as the FZ6R.

The Barber course is very technical and the last thing that I wanted to do was damage myself or the bike, so I took it a little slower than if I had previously been on the track. I did the track day through the NESBA organization and was impressed with how they ran the event. There were about 40 bikes in the beginner class and only about 10 of us seemed like actual beginners. One guy in the beginner class drove from Phoenix, had two R6's, a motorhome, tire warmers & other gear, and a mechanic with 21 years experience working on Yamaha's. I witnessed quite a few wrecks and the ambulance had to haul a few people off during the day.

Riding the FZ6R in that environment was still a blast and I would do it again through NESBA.

Sorry if the video is hard to watch...first time trying to post a video.

flyingminno