When do I graduate from this bike?

MNDZA

The FZ6R is my first bike and I was wondering when are you "ready" to upgrade to a more powerful bike? Is it after a certain number of miles or can I just learn the basics and then apply them to a more powerful bike afterward? I have good self control and am very cautious so what else do I need and how do I know when I'm ready to switch?

T

thirty_too

well for me i dont have your model but the fz6 has enough power for me. I honestly dont ever want a liter bike... no point. my $.02

K

KensFz6

I stepped up from a 250 to my FZ6 after about 4 months and 750 miles. I found the newfound power exciting and scary at the same time. Ideally, I should have had more experience first but I'm also a cautious rider. As long as you think you're ready and aren't overconfident, go for it.

T

thirty_too

but the fz6r is not a 250. at least im almost positive it isnt. a 600 is quite different than a 250

D

derf

I've been riding for >20 years and have had my FZ6 for 4 years.

I figure I should be ready for an 'upgrade' when this one wears out and something shiny and new strikes my eye...

so I'll probably 'graduate' from this bike in about 5 years.

S

sfcali86

i think youll just know after rideing for a 10-20 thousand miles youll feel comfortible i think the best thing to do is to ride your fz to you own limits on twisties, long trips, everywhere once your comftrible you'll get the felling its time to try somthing that can handle more agressive and faster. for me it will be a while i dont feel ready to handle an extra 600cc right now its plenty as far as handleing i need mor practice eventually ill want something that performs much better

I

ironman