Public Safety Jobs?

cbzdel

As some may know my boss gave my work the big layoff. Technically I am still working for the company under the table for a commission but I really need to find something permanent.

It got me thinking, the construction market is SHOT, I am in structural engineer tech, I have an associates degree in Architectural Engineering and Design. I was going to take the FE test next year to get the first step to becoming a Licensed Professional Engineer (PE) but I am starting to get the feeling that being a PE is not as good as it seems epically when the economy takes a down turn. So this had got me thinking about a Career change. I am 24 and could not afford to go back to school, I could if I also had a part time job but I would only do that if I really had to..

But I have been giving alot of thought to public safety, as in police or fire fighter. I was reading anyone with a High School diploma can become a volunteer and work your way up to a paid position? Anyone have any input, I know there is some police officers on the forum. Maybe that just how its advertised so they get free labor hours then never advance you??

I understand the these are not the safest job but its a job that would keep my on my toes and help keep the rest of the decent people in the world safe.

Or if anyone has any advice for me that would be great. Making a career change and throwing my degree in teh trash is something I am ready and willing to do only because I now feel my current career is 1) not stable an 2) not rewarding 3) i dont learn anything..

btastarsky