Hellooo..Newbie Here... Now onto Overpants!

rahuljp

Hey guys

I just purchased a 2009 leftover FZ6R after a lot of research. The forum was a great help with that. I still havent picked it up yet, although I purchased it a month back. Looking for a means of bringing it over to CT from Long Island. I didnt want to ride it over right away.

Just a little background, I've been riding since I was 16 (26 now), but mostly in India. I always wanted to get a bike, but had to buy a house, car, get married. Now that all that is done, I figured I'd get a bike. My MSF course is this weekend, and I'm excited to complete that.

Anyways.. onto my question, I work in a company where i'm usually required to wear business casual most of the time. I can wear jeans on days I dont have meetings. Are any of guys in similar situations? Do you usually wear overpants then, or protection underneath the pants? I figured it would be a pain if I had to do that on my commute everyday (just 15 mins though)!

Sorry for the long post.... :)

dart1963

Super Moderator
Elite Member

bobski

I went the overpant route. Considered underarmour but figured it would be more of a pain getting it on and off than just slipping the overpants on and off. Plus the overpants protect your regular clothing while riding or in the (hopefully never) event of a fall. I'm a warm weather rider and went with the Joe Rocket Phoenix 2 Mesh Pants off of eBay. I know there's better protection options than mesh pants, but it gets up to 90 degrees here regularly and I figured better to have pants I'll actually wear than ones I'll leave at home because they are just too hot and uncomfortable. Hope this helps :)

sammy56