FZ6R throttle overrun

RZ350 Rider

Does your FZ6R have any overrun when closing the throttle? I've been riding since 1974, and the throttle on my FZ6R is like a light switch. When I close it to shift the rpms go to idle instantly. It caught me by surprise at first. Anyone else notice this?

RZ350 Rider

L

LERecords

i would asume that you just dont have to let go of the gas as much.. now could be dangerous for people that dont realize that you still have to give it "less" throttle when shifting.. just ease up on the throttle when you shift.. or let it go and give it a little bit before letting the clutch back out slowly.. yo'll get the hang of it :)...

oh and what is an rz350??? dirt bike or quad??

oh oh .. and :welcome: to the forum

M

MarinaFazer

yea..the engines rev very high very quick. Sounds normal. I don't close the throttle all the way when shifting. Just a slight blip that's quick enough to bump the lever (and use the clutch when not hauling booty)

RZ350 Rider

All the bikes I've ever owned, plus my cars, when you rev the engine then let off the gas, it takes a sec or two for the engine to slow to idle. On my FZ6R (has only 130 miles so far, maybe that's why but well see) when I let go of the throttle to goes to idle instantly. Just feels funny to me and makes it hard to be smooth. I wonder if it's a fuel injection thing. My RZ350 is from 1984 and is a 2 stroke street bike with almost as many horses as the FZ6R. It's highly worked. Sounds like a Grand Prix bike and can make the hair stand up on the back of your neck, and can terrorize the neighborhood depending on how high I rev it. It kinda bucks and pops at light throttle too and scares little kids and older folks. Thanks for the welcome to the forum too!

MNDZA

Yeah my bike is the same way....immediately goes to idle when I close the throttle.

RZ350 Rider

Yeah my bike is the same way....immediately goes to idle when I close the throttle.