Chain or rear wheel clicking

walter kanov

Hi FZ6R community, need some help please!

After doing an oil change and clean/lube of the chain a noise appeared that i don't think i had before.

I got a video here on you tube.

After searching it appears that this may be either
1. chain slack (checked that and it seems ok, but i am not an expert at checking it)
2. rear wheel alignment (both marks where rear wheel mounts to swing-arm are exactly in the same spot and i haven't moved them)
3. chain going bad (didn't notice any links not willing to bend while cleaning)
4. sprocket going bad (no missing teeth or excessive wear that i noticed)
5. transmission messed up by oil change (noise is present while spinning the wheel by hand with transmission in neutral and engine off)
6. something else
7. it's normal noise without load (couldn't hear it during test drive, but with all the wind noise, one wouldn't hear it anyway)

Which one of these should I go back and recheck or is it time to go visit a stealer for their expert opinion?

Thanks for your help in advance.

p.s. another strange thing is that when bike is in any gear other than neutral , even with clutch lever fully squized rear wheel is still spinning (although can be stopped with little effort).

Last edited:

Scott_Thomas

Insert title Here
Elite Member
Watching the video, it looks like the bolts of the sprocket are hitting the arm of the stand. Try moving the stand farther toward the front of the motorcycle. I don't think you actually have a problem at all, and it's just the noise of the bolts hitting the rear stand.

Scott_Thomas

Insert title Here
Elite Member

Chucker

Watching the video, it looks like the bolts of the sprocket are hitting the arm of the stand. Try moving the stand farther toward the front of the motorcycle. I don't think you actually have a problem at all, and it's just the noise of the bolts hitting the rear stand.
That's exactly what it is.

xorbe