Best Winter Gear

Funkmaxtor

So I currently own a Joe Rocket Mesh jacket and pants. I am a school teacher and use my bike to commute to work and college. Is heated gear best (pants, vest, maybe gloves)? Or should I just keep adding layers. I currently wear khakis, Joe Rocket (Atomic) Mesh pants, t-shirt, dress shirt, sweat shirt, and Joe Rocket Mesh Jacket w/ waterproof liner. I also wear Joe Rocket vented leather gloves (need something warmer).

So my real question is what is the best way to keep warm? Heated gear? Layers? A combination of the two?

I looking to get whats best but money is a real consideration when looking.

mchury

So I currently own a Joe Rocket Mesh jacket and pants. I am a school teacher and use my bike to commute to work and college. Is heated gear best (pants, vest, maybe gloves)? Or should I just keep adding layers. I currently wear khakis, Joe Rocket (Atomic) Mesh pants, t-shirt, dress shirt, sweat shirt, and Joe Rocket Mesh Jacket w/ waterproof liner. I also wear Joe Rocket vented leather gloves (need something warmer).

So my real question is what is the best way to keep warm? Heated gear? Layers? A combination of the two?

I looking to get whats best but money is a real consideration when looking.
my experience tells me layers is better. u can always take off something if u get to warm. heated things wilol make u sweat and that inturn gets u colder quiker

stuna

looks like were gonna need it . there calling for hi of mid 30s this weekend . we should be in the 50s / nw wis.

JSP

Super Moderator