First time!

FlyZ6R

So, I'm scheduled for the MSF BRC next weekend but I just couldn't wait that long to ride. My bike's been sitting in the garage for almost 2 weeks and it's been calling to me! I finally broke down, geared up, and rode a street bike for the very first time! It was awesome! Aside from stalling it the first time and not-so-smooth throttling at slow speed in first gear it went quite well. I live at the end of a cul de sac so very little traffic or other hazards to worry about. I really like how the bike felt and am looking forward to completing the BRC and taking the bike for a spin out in the big bad world.

I did have a question though: was this a bad idea that I just got lucky and didn't dump it? I took things very slow and easy (barely saw 3rd gear by the end of 20 min), but i am brand new at this.The extent of my motorcycle experience prior was a Honda 50 trail bike I fooled around with about 15 years ago! If I do anymore before the course it will be similar conditions, I will not go into traffic or anything without the certificate, but should i just wait to ride at all until then? What do you guys think?

madmike

Lord Humongous
Elite Member

Rookasaki

The MSF course will teach you proper riding techniques and expose you to situations you might come upon in the real world... It won't make you a better rider overnight, however it will give you the knowledge to become one. Experience in the saddle is the only thing that will make you a better rider.

I would practice riding up and down the street.. Back roads etc. Get a feel for the bike, balance, throttle vs clutch etc.... I started riding back in 2004. Road for about a month prior to taking the MSF course... I was able to ride in the "real world" just fine.. However I learn a lot from the course. Never knew about counter steering until I took the course.. God only knows how I survived for that first month. Ride safe. :thumbup:

Grayce