Beginning Rider Research

FZ6Rob85

I had my mind dead set on the FZ6R, and have been saving up for a used 6R for the last few months, reaching 50% of my financial goal for the purchase of bike and necessary gear. I thought that a FZ6R with it's more mild state of tune, ideal ergonomics, and nimble handling would be a great first bike. After further research though I have decided to take my vanity out of the equation and stick with a sub-500 cc bike as my first ride. After doing the research, there was just too much back and forth from different people about the FZ6R's qualities as a beginner bike. Many reviews, comparisons, and articles I have read peg the 6R as a beginner bike, no questions asked, yet others claim that the R6 derived inline four is still far too big a bike for a novice such as myself. Even on this forum there seems to be some dissension as to whether or not the 6R is an ideal bike for beginners. I still hope to graduate to an FZ6R once I have some experience under my belt, but for now I believe the best option for me is to find an inexpensive, used, sub-500 cc bike that will be a little more forgiving both on the road and on the wallet. I will still be participating in this forum because of the wealth of knowledge and experience that many of the members have to offer (not to mention that some of the posts are just flat out hilarious). I have included some of the reading that helped me come to my decision below for others to reference.

NEW RIDERS PLEASE READ THIS - updated - Sport Bike Forums Page1 at Sport Rider Magazine

The Exquisite Agony: Buying Your First Motorcycle - How to Buy a Motorcycle - Epinions.com

Motorcycle Beginner: Buying Your First Motorcycle

JSP

Super Moderator
It really just depends... I have seen people start on R1's for their first bikes! I started on a 250 Rebel. I do not regret it but I do think I could have done fine on the 6R. Many here started on the 6R. Men and Female. Its just all in how you handle it.